Marie McGrath

Book This Tutor
Marie McGrathMarie McGrath

Meet Marie McGrath: College Essay, Humanities, & Project Build Tutor.

I am a published poet and educator from Miami. I have a lifelong passion for the written word and for sharing that passion with others through writing and education. When not writing, I spend my time working one-on-one with students grades 5 and up, and serving as the Director of Development for the O, Miami Poetry Festival.

I fervently believe that education has transformational power, both on an individual and societal level, and that personalized instruction and attention is valuable, if not necessary, to that process. In sessions, I strive to cultivate an open, Socratic, creative environment where my students can feel empowered to take risks, do hard things, and redefine their academic identities in a positive and expansive way. Everyone has the capacity to be a good writer and storyteller, and it is my goal to prove that to each of my students.

Middle School Services: SSAT • English & Writing • Project Build • Written Word
High School Services: College Essay • English & Writing • Project Build • Written Word

Comprehensive SSAT Prep Program: $2,700
Project Build Program: $1,875
Non-Test Prep Hourly Rate: $150

University of Florida

Master of Fine Arts (Poetry)

Boston College

Bachelor of Arts in English and Communications (Cum Laude)
Acapella Club
K-12 after-school tutor
Bystander intervention trainer

Carrollton School of the Sacred Heart

Captain of the Softball and Golf teams
Soprano in the choir
Member of school theater program


  1. Executive Director of TextLess Live More (peer-education campaign to promote digital wellness and end distracted driving)
  2. Director of Strategic Partnerships for Students Against Destructive Decisions
  3. Certified Digital Wellness Educator
  4. Have published poems in Poet Lore, Subtropics, Scrivener Creative Review, Boston College Magazine, and others and am at work on my first book!

Human Heart

  1. Language learner - I speak Spanish and am currently working on improving my Mandarin and French
  2. Busy baker - revisiting an early COVID practice and dusting off sourdough skills.
  3. Pet parent - I have two cats that I am completely obsessed with
  4. Fiend for flights - I am an avid traveler and have visited nearly 30 countries
  5. Secondhand Superstar - I live to score unique and sustainable fashion at my local thrift shops